Saturday, 24 February, 2024

Police, APF bag second win in row


By A Staff Reporter
Kathmandu, Jan 12 : Nepal Police Club and APF Club bagged a second win in a row on Tuesday to bolster their semi-finals chance at the Prime Minister Cup National T20 Cricket Tournament.

Police notched up a four wickets victory over Tribhuvan Army Club to register the second victory in a row to top the Group A table with four points. Karnali defeated Province 1 by 31 runs in the other match of Group A today. With equal two points, Karnali trailed behind Army at the third position with poor run rate.

Police smashed 141 runs to successfully chase the 138-run victory target forwarded by Army in 18 overs losing six wickets.

Opener Kushal Bhurtel (22-ball 35), Rashid Khan (19-ball 28), Dilip Nath (unbeaten run-a-ball 25) and Anil Sah (11-ball 22) contributed with their bats in the win of Police.
Bowlers Shahab Alam chipped in with a figure of 3-16 and Jitendra Mukhiya ended with 2-27 for Army.

Army, after being invited to bat first, lost all wickets to score 137 runs in the 19.5 overs. Captain Binod Bhandari clubbed three sixes and three boundaries in his 36-ball 44 knocks. Opener Sompal Kami hit six balls to the rope in his 35-ball 42 contribution.

Police’s Karan K.C led the bowling attack against his former club with 4-17 figures. Gulsan Jha and Yogendra Singh Karki also picked two wickets for Police.

At Mulpani Cricket Ground, Karnali scored 120/7 in 20 overs after being invited to bat first by Province 1. In the run chase, Province 1 was bowled out by Karnali for 89 runs in 17.5 overs.

Anuj Chunara claimed four wickets and Diwan Pun grabbed two wickets in the dismissal of Province 1. Lower order resisted with a bat for Province 1 after its top order collapsed. Captain Lohani (14), Firdosh Ansari (23), Dipesh Kandel (15) and Sarwan Yadav (15) chipped in for Province 1.

Earlier, Captain Rabindra Shahi top-scored with 41-ball 36 and Prakash Jaishi added 28-ball 25 for Karnali. Mukund Yadav (3-18) and Firdosh (2-22) contributed with a ball for Province 1.

Bam stars for APF
Lokesh Bam hit a half-century as APF Club claimed seven wickets victory over Bagmati Province at TU Cricket Ground. APF garnered four points to remain at top of Group B table.
APF chased the target of 126 runs posted by Bagmati Province in the 18.4 overs losing three wickets.

Bam slammed 10 boundaries and one six to hit 50 runs off 20 balls. Opener Pradeep Airee remained unbeaten with 36 runs off 54 balls for APF.
Ram Naresh Gir, Rijan Dhakal and Pratis GC each took one wicket for Bagmati Province.

Elected to bat first, Bagmati Province scored 125 runs with the loss of eight wickets in the allocated 20 overs. Opener Ishan Pandey scored the highest 29 runs, Nandan Yadev added 24 runs off 16 balls and Opener Subash Khakurel collected 21 runs off 18 balls for Bagmati.

Abinash Bohara claimed four wickets and Kamal Airee grabbed two wickets for APF.

In the other match of Group B played at Mulpani, Province No. 2 edged Gandaki Province by two wickets to claim their first win.

Province 2 chased the target of 117 runs posted by Gandaki Province in the 18.1 overs with a loss of eight wickets.

Captain Hasim Ansari (26), Opener Santosh Karki (23) and Hari Krishna Jha (17) were the chief run suppliers for Province 2.

Krishna Poudel picked three wickets while Subash Bhandari and Bishal Paudel grabbed two wickets apiece for Gandaki.

Gandaki Province lost seven wickets to garner 116 runs in 20 overs. Opener Arjun Kumal scored the highest 41 runs for Gandaki. Sandeep Chettri also added 27 runs off 24 balls.
Mohammad Aadil Alam grabbed two wickets for the winning side.