Sunday, 3 March, 2024

PM Cup T20 National Cricket Championship kicks off   


Kathmandu, Jan 10: The Prime Minister (PM) Cup T20 National Cricket Championship has kicked off here today. Tribhuvan Army Club has started with a win in the inaugural match. Defending champion, the Tribhuvan Army Club beat the Karnali Province team by 63 runs in the opening match played at TU Cricket Ground in Kirtipur.    

The Army had posted a 117 runs target to Karnali. Losing the toss, Army batted first and collected 116 runs in 19.1 overs losing all wickets. In reply, the Karnali team was confined to 53 runs in 14.4 overs losing all its wickets.    

Ten teams are competing in the Championship, which is divided into two groups.    

The Tribhuvan Army Club, Karnali Province, Police Club, Sudurpaschim Province and Province no 1 are placed in Group A while the Armed Police Force (APF) Club, Province no 2, Bagmati Province, Lumbini Province and Gandaki Province are in Group B.    

The winner and the first runner-up teams from both groups will enter the semi-finals of the Championship. The final match will take place on January 19.