Saturday, 2 March, 2024

Dhangadhi lift Deputy Mayor Cup title


By A Staff Reporter

Kathmandu, Nov 15 : Dhangadhi Sub-Metropolitan City clinched the title of the Deputy Mayor Cup National Women's League Qualifiers after beating Lalitpur Metropolitan City by 3-0 in the penalty shootout at ANFA Complex, Satdobato on Sunday.

Penalty decided the final match after the regulation time ended in a 3-3 draw.
Player of the Match Rebica Pandey, Rekha Poudel and Birshana Chaudhary netted one goal apiece for Dhangadhi in penalty.

Lalitpur goalkeeper Ankita Rai blocked the spot-kick of Saraswoti Rokaya.
Similarly, Skipper Nirmala BK was the only player to convert a penalty for Lalitpur.

Striker Manisha Sen opened the account for Lalitpur in the 12th minute. Lalitpur doubled their tally in the 16th minute through a goal from skipper Nirmala BK.
Dhangadhi made a comeback in the match in the 24th minute as they made the score-line 2-1 from the goal of Sima Rawal.

Lalitpur continued their domination extending the score-line 3-1.
Chandra Bhandari put Dhangadhi back on the track cutting the deficit 3-2 in the 49th minute. Bhandari scored her second to help Dhangadhi level the score 3-3 in the 64th minute.
Likewise, Dipa Shahi of Kankai Municipality has been adjudged the Most Valuable Player of the qualifiers.

The title winner of the qualifiers Dhangadhi bagged Rs. 500,000 and runner-up Lalitpur pocketed Rs. 300,000 in a cash prize.

Dhangadhi also dominated the individual awards with Usha Nath claiming Best Goalkeeper, Saraswoti Rokaya Best Midfielder, Chandra Bhandari Best Forward and Raghawandar Karki as Best Coach. Lalitpur's Srijana Singh won the Best Defender award. The individual winners claimed Rs 20,000 each.

Kankai Municipality Jhapa's Dipa Shahi became the Best Player of the tournament and won Rs 50,000. Janaki Rural Municipality Kailali won the Fair Play Award and won Rs 50,000.
Kathmandu Metropolitan's Deputy Mayor Hari Prabha Khadgi and Dhangadhi Sub Metropolitan City Chief Nrip Bahadur Oad handed out the trophies and medals to the winners and the runner-up team.

Both the teams have also qualified for the National Women's League after securing their berths in the final.