Thursday, 13 June, 2024

Chitwan clinch maiden EPL title


By A Staff Reporter

Kathmandu, Oct 10 : Chitwan Tigers clinched the maiden title of the Everest Premier League (EPL) after beating Pokhara Rhinos by four wickets at T.U International Cricket Ground, Kirtipur, Kathmandu on Saturday.
Bhim Sharki scored a half-century as Chitwan chased the victory target of 112 runs posted by Pokhara in the 15.5 overs losing six wickets.

Chitwan made a poor start as their opening batsmen duo Mohammad Shahzad and Hasim Ansari returned to the pavilion cheaply. Ansari was golden duck out and Sahzad added 11 runs. Janat also followed a suit of Shahzad to be out in zero.

After the dismissal of Janat, the middle order Bhim Sharki came with half century cameo to guide Chitwan to victory. Sharki scored highest 63 runs off 45 balls that included seven boundaries and two sixes.
Dilip Nath put Chitwan chipped in with 18 runs off 17 balls. Rajesh Pulami contributed 14 runs for winning side.

Kishore Mahato had a four-wicket haul and Nandan Yadev grabbed two wickets for the victim Pokhara.

Earlier, Kamal Singh Airee claimed four wickets while Karim Janat and Seekkuge Prasanna grabbed two wickets apiece to restrict Pokhara for 111 runs. Similarly, Captain Sompal Kami and Sagar Dhakal contributed one wicket each for winning side in the match.

Sagar Dhakal of Chitwan was declared the Player of the series as he claimed 14 wickets in the series. Kamal Singh Airee was declared Player of the final match. The Player of the series Dhakal received Bajaj NS motorbike.
Bhim Sharki was declared the Emerging Player of the tournament who scored 196 runs during the event and he received Rs. 51,000.

He is the second highest scorer and Sharki was first Nepali to score highest run. Afghani Mohammad Shahzad of Chitwan was the highest run scorer of the tournament who scored 207 runs.

Earlier, Invited to batting first, Pokhara all-out in the 17.5 overs with scoring 111 runs in the allocated 20 overs match.

Asela Gunaratne scored a highest 34 runs for Pokhara. He hit three boundaries and a single off 24 balls. Opener Richard Levi collected 26 runs off 15 balls and skipper Binod Bhandari hit 22 runs off 26 balls.
Opener Bipin Rawal (17) was another double digit contributor for Pokhara.

The title winner Chitwan received Rs. 5 millions and Pokhara satisfy with Rs. 1.5 millions in a cash prize.