Wednesday, 19 June, 2024

APF dethrone Province 1 to lift PM Cup


By A Staff Reporter
Kathmandu, Dec27 : Armed Police Force (APF) claimed the title of PM Cup National Women’s Cricket Tournament following their seven-wicket thrashing over defending champion Province No. 1 at Falpa Cricket Ground in Dhangadhi on Sunday.

Elected to bat first, Province No 1 scored just 67 runs by losing six wickets in the allocated 20 overs match. Opener Jyoti Pandey led APF to successfully chase a 68-run victory target in 20 overs losing three wickets. 
APF recovered from the early hiccup of their opener Indu Barma as Pandey scored not out 36 runs off 39 balls to help the departmental side cruise home. Her batting included six boundaries. Mamata Chaudhary chipped in with 23-ball 19. 

Captain Rubina Chhetri claimed three wickets for Province No 1.
Earlier, Skipper Chhetri opened the batting for Province No. 1 to collect the highest 34 runs off 46 balls. Apsari Begam was the other batter to add a double-figure of 34-ball 11.

Player of the match Sita Rana Magar claimed three wickets and Rekha Rawal grabbed two wickets to restrict Province No. 1 for a paltry score. 

Chhetri was declared the Player of the series for her 175 runs and eight wickets. The title winner APF bagged Rs. 500,0000 and runner-up Province No 1 lifted Rs. 300,000.