Thursday, 25 April, 2024

NA election


Six candiates file nominations from Sudurpaschim province

Candidates from the ruling coalition.

By Avinash Chaudhari, Dhangadhi, Jan. 4: Six candidates have filed their candidacy from the Sudurpaschim Province for the election to the National Assembly (NA) members.

Of the six, three are from the ruling coalition and three are from the main opposition party.

Only three will be elected to the NA from the Sudurpaschim province.

According to the election officer at the provincial election office, those who filed candidacy from the ruling coalition are Narayan Datta Mishra of Nepali Congress under the open category, Madan Kumari Shah of CPN (Unified Socialist) under the women category, and Jagat Parki of CP (Maoist Center) under the Dalit category.

Of the main opposition party CPN (UML), candidates for the NA members from the province are Dilliraj Bhatta under the open category, Santosh Kumari Sharma under the women category, and Naresh BK under the Dalit category.

There are 227 voters - 52 of the provincial assembly and 175 of local levels' chiefs and deputy chiefs.

NA election is set for January 26.