Monday, 26 February, 2024

CPN-UML directs members to withdraw no-confidence motion filed against CM Rai


By Sashidhar Parajuli, Biratnagar, Mar. 24: The ruling CPN-UML in Province 1 has directed the provincial assembly members to withdraw the no-confidence motion filed against Chief Minister Sher Dhan Rai.

The meeting of the CPN-UML parliamentary party of Province 1 Assembly held on Wednesday directed the party members to withdraw their signatures from the proposal of no confidence against CM Rai within seven days.

This is the first meeting of the ruling CPN-UML Province 1 parliamentary party that took place after the Supreme Court reinstated CPN-UML and NCP (Maoist Centre) as individual parties.

The meeting also passed the statute of the CPN-UML parliamentary party. It has been said that the statute would be implemented after it is passed by the provincial committee of the party.

Likewise, the meeting formed a 15-member parliamentary board as provisioned by the CPN-UML party statute to maintain discipline within the party and to take action against those who violate the party's code of conduct.

The leader, sub-leader, chief whip and whip of the party will be the member of the board. Provincial assembly members Kajiman Kagate, Asharatna Jabegu, Lila Ballav Adhikari, Tulasi Neupane, Bimal Karki, Jasamaya Gajmer, Gyaneshwor Rajbanshi, Birkha Pradhan, Ambika Thapa and Lilam Basnet have been nominated as the members of the board.

Meanwhile, two members from the Madhav Kumar Nepal-led faction of CPN-UML Lila Ballav Ghimire and Tulasi Neupane were present in the meeting. Likewise, a member from NCP (Maoist Centre) Tanka Aangbuhang also participated in the meeting.

A total of 51 members of the 93-member provincial assembly are from CPN-UML. The no-confidence motion against CM Rai was signed by 21 members of CPN-UML and 16 of NCP (Maoist Centre). Six of them have already withdrawn their signature.