Sunday, 23 June, 2024

Nepal beats PNG, clinches Tri-Nation T20I Series


By Gobinda Regmi, Kathmandu, April 4: Nepal has become the champion in the Tri-nation T20 International Cricket Series after middle-order batsman Dipendra Singh Airee performed as an all-rounder.

Nepal defeated Papua New Guinea (PNG) by 50 runs in the final match played at the Tribhuvan International Stadium in Kirtipur on Monday.

Chasing the winning target of 169 for victory, PNG were all out for 118 in 16.1 overs.

Nepal won the title unbeaten in a three-nation series involving Nepal, PNG and Malaysia. This is also the first international title for Nepal under the captaincy of Sandeep Lamichhane.