Monday, 26 February, 2024

No confidence motion filed against Province 1 CM Sherdhan Rai


By Nabaraj Kattel, Biratnagar, Dec. 27: A no-confidence motion has been registered against Sherdhan Rai, Chief Minister of Province 1.

A total of 37 members of the provincial assembly of the Nepal Communist Party Prachanda-Nepal-led faction registered the proposal in the provincial assembly secretariat on Sunday.

The proposal was made on the leadership of Tanka Angbuhang, deputy-leader of the NCP parliamentary party. Similarly, Bhim Acharya has been proposed as the CM of State 1.

Of the total 93 members of the State 1 assembly, 67 are from the ruling NCP where 19 support the Oli-led faction while 48 support Prachanda-Nepal's faction.