Saturday, 24 February, 2024

Nepal’s updated voters stand at 16,243,110


By A Staff Reporter
Kathmandu, Mar. 18: The Election Commission Nepal has published the updated electoral roll of the nation which includes 16,243,110 voters in 10,660 voting centres across the nation.
The Commission's electoral roll updating programme, 2077 and voting centre review programme, 2077 had kicked off from January 28.
The EC's statistics include all those individuals aged above 18 years who had registered their names in the voters' list until December 20, 2020.
Revealing the district-wise details of the voters and voting centre on Wednesday via a press statement signed by spokesperson Raj Kumar Shrestha, the Commission informed that of the total 16,243,110 voters across the nation, 8,211,954 were male voters, 8,030,984 were females and 172 were of the third gender.
As per the Commission's data, Morang has the highest number of voters at 669,490, including 339,368 males, 330,120 females and two third gendered citizens in 300 voting centres.
Morang district is followed by Kathmandu and Jhapa with over 600,000 voters each.
In Kathmandu district which holds 320 voting centres, a total of 613,497 persons, including 296,778 males, 316,708 females and 11 third gender people have registered their names in the voters' list.
Likewise, Jhapa holds 609,374 voters of which, 301,483 are males, 307,882 are females and nine are third gender. There are 283 polling centres in Jhapa.
Meanwhile, Manang has the lowest number of voters. There are only 5,796 voters including 2,882 males and 3,094 females and 28 voting centres.
The total number of voters in the densely populated Kathmandu Valley is 1,034,018 which include 184,371 voters from Bhaktapur, 236,150 from Lalitpur and 613,497 from Kathmandu.
Meanwhile, the EC has decided to resume the works to update the electoral roll by collecting voters' names in all 77 districts form March 18.
According to the provision in the Electoral Roll Act, 2073, the voters' name cannot be registered in the electoral roll after the announcement of the election date.
As the government had declared to hold the mid-term election on April 30 and May 10 after Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli dissolved the House of Representatives on December 20 last year, the works to collect the voters' name had been halted from December 21, 2020.
However, after the Supreme Court reinstated the House, the elections would not be held now.