Friday, 19 April, 2024

Govt forms body to study border issue with China


By Purushottam P. Khatri
Kathmandu, Sept. 2: The government has formed a committee to study the border issue of northern Himalayan region of Humla district.
A meeting of the Council of Ministers held Wednesday evening at the official residence of Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba in Baluwatar decided to form a committee to study the problems that have arisen along Nepal-China border from Limi Lapcha to Hilsa of Namkha Rural Municipality in Humla district.

Talking to journalists after the Cabinet meeting, Minister for Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs Gyanendra Bahadur Karki said, "A committee comprising the officials from the Department of Survey, Nepal Police, Armed Police and border experts will be formed under the coordination of Joint Secretary representing the Home Ministry to study the problems in the border area from Limi Lapcha to Hilsa in Namkha Rural Municipality of the district."

The committee will submit the report to the Ministry of Home Affairs, Minister Karki said.
The government has, however, not fixed any deadline for the submission of the report. Similarly, the government has promoted Joint Secretary Raj Kumar Shrestha to the post of secretary of the civil service, and two Under Secretaries of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Krishna Chandra Aryal and Dhan Bahadur Oli, to the post of Joint Secretary, Minister Karki said. Shrestha is currently the spokesperson for the Election Commission Nepal (ECN).
Likewise, the Cabinet meeting decided to form a committee to investigate into the issue of purchasing shares illegally in the name of the relatives and family members by chairman of Securities Board of Nepal (SEBON) Bhishma Dhungana.

The government has formed a three-member committee under the chairmanship of former high court judge Anantraj Dumre to investigate into case and submit its report. Among the members are Narayan Prasad Poudel and Arjun Kumar Khadka, Joint Secretary of the Nepal Law Commission.

Minister Karki said the committee was formed as per sub-section 7 of the section 7 of the Securities Board Act, 2063 BS.
Elaborating other decisions, Minister Karki said that the government has appointed Bishwo Mohan Adhikari of Kaski as Executive Director of the Youth and Small Entrepreneur Self-Employment Fund.
The government has appointed Dr. Bikrant Dhakal of Morang as member of the Nepal Medical Council.

The Cabinet meeting also decided to accept a grant assistance of Rs. 1.93 billion to be provided by the Swiss government for implementing Skill Project-II in Nepal. Also, the government gave approval to acquire needed land area for the establishment of Dhalkebar-Loharpatti 132 KV transmission line.
Likewise, the government has decided to endorse directive (second amendment), 2078 made for the rehabilitation, treatment and people with disabilities during the Maoist, Madhes and People’s Movements.