Friday, 7 October, 2022

Elections to NC provincial committees conclude, results today


By A Staff Reporter
Kathmandu, Dec. 5: Vote counting of the Nepali Congress Provincial Committee elections held on Saturday has begun.
The elections were held in six provinces expect for Province-2.

NC Central Election Committee secretary Jagannath Shrestha informed that vote counting started from 9 to 10 pm and the results would come by Sunday morning.

Elections for the new Provincial Committee were held in six provinces on Saturday. In Province-2, the election could not be held as the candidacy nomination was obstructed because of internal disputes.
In most provinces, party president and Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba, senior leader Ram Chandra Paudel and leader Krishna Prasad Sitaula have their separate candidates although PM Deuba and Sitaula have fielded joint candidates in a few provinces.

The party representatives will elect one president, two vice-presidents, two general secretaries and three joint general secretaries in the province committee although the committee is not of the same size in all provinces.

In province-1, leaders Uddhav Thapa and Guru Raj Ghimire, in Bagmati Province Indra Kumar Baniya, Jagadish Narasingh KC and Bhimsen Pradhan, in Gandaki, Arjun Prasad Joshi and Shukra Raj Sharma, in Lumbini, Bharat Shah and Amar Singh Pun, in Karnali Province, Bhupendra Jung Shahi and Lalit Jung Shahi and in Sudurpachhim Province Bir Bahadur Balayar and Narayan Mishra had filed their candidacy for the post of province president.
In Bagmati, Pradhan is from the Sitaula camp and in Province 1, Thapa is a common candidate of PM Deuba and Sitaula.