Thursday, 23 May, 2024

109 political parties registered at EC


By A Staff Reporter
Kathmandu, Feb. 22: The Election Commission (EC) has set a deadline to apply for a copy of the voter ID card if it is lost or damaged in any case.
Issuing a statement on Monday, the EC said that a copy of the voter’s identity card can be obtained by submitting an application to the concerned district election office by March 4 on the recommendation of the ward office.

Assistant Spokesperson of the Commission Surya Prasad Aryal Monday issued a statement informing about the preparations for the local elections.
Also, if there is any error in personal details in the voter’s identity card, the card bearers can now correct the errors by filling out a form by email/fax or physical presence, the Election Commission informed.

Earlier, there was a provision to submit the application in the prescribed form by physically appearing at the concerned election office.
“As per a decision taken by the Commission on February 17, all the election offices have been instructed to receive the application from the email and fax as well,” the statement read.
Aryal informed that the Commission has also started the process to publish the updated voter list in the Gazette.

The Commission further informed that the procurement process of election materials required for the local level election has been pushed forward. “Bidding information has been published for the purchase of 23 types of election materials required for the local level election on the basis of competition,” the statement read.

Similarly, the number of political parties registered at the Election Commission has reached 109, with the registration of the Communist Party of Nepal (Gauravshali), Sajha Party, Nepal and Samabeshi Loktantrik Party.

The commission has also informed that 10 political parties have applied to participate in the local level election. The parties submitting application to participate in the local elections are Janmat Party, Mongol National Organisation, Nepal Workers’ and Peasants’ Party, Rastriya Nagarik Party, Janata Pragatisheel Party, Nepal, Nepal Loktantrik Party, Deshbhakt Samaj Party, Loktantrik Samajwadi Party Nepal, Terai Madhes Loktantrik Party and Maulik Jarokilo Party.

The Election Commission (EC) has called for the registration of political parties from February 17 to take part in the upcoming local poll. The Commission has given the deadline of February 27 for the parties to submit their applications.