Monday, 27 May, 2024

Oscars 2021 winners in full

Acting winners Yuh-Jung Youn, Daniel Kaluuya and Frances McDormand backstage after the Oscars. Photo - Reuters

Hollywood's biggest night has taken place, honouring the movie industry's finest from the past 12 months. Here is the full list of the winners of the 93rd Academy Awards.

Best picture

  • Winner: Nomadland
  • The Father
  • Judas and the Black Messiah
  • Mank
  • Minari
  • Promising Young Woman
  • Sound of Metal
  • The Trial of the Chicago 7


Best actress

  • Winner: Frances McDormand - Nomadland
  • Viola Davis - Ma Rainey's Black Bottom
  • Andra Day - The United States vs Billie Holiday
  • Vanessa Kirby - Pieces of a Woman
  • Carey Mulligan - Promising Young Woman

Steven Yeun [R] will be recognised by Walking Dead fans as Glenn Rhee. Photo - MELISSA LUKENBAUGH


Best actor

  • Winner: Anthony Hopkins - The Father
  • Riz Ahmed - Sound of Metal
  • Chadwick Boseman - Ma Rainey's Black Bottom
  • Gary Oldman - Mank
  • Steven Yeun - Minari


Best supporting actress

  • Winner: Yuh-Jung Youn - Minari
  • Maria Bakalova - Borat Subsequent Moviefilm
  • Glenn Close - Hillbilly Elegy
  • Olivia Colman - The Father
  • Amanda Seyfried - Mank

Best supporting actor

  • Winner: Daniel Kaluuya - Judas and the Black Messiah
  • Sacha Baron Cohen - The Trial of the Chicago 7
  • Leslie Odom Jr - One Night in Miami
  • Paul Raci - Sound of Metal
  • Lakeith Stanfield - Judas and the Black Messiah

Chloe Zhao directed Nomadland. Photo - EPA


Best director

  • Winner: Nomadland - Chloe Zhao
  • Another Round - Thomas Vinterberg
  • Mank - David Fincher
  • Minari - Lee Isaac Chung
  • Promising Young Woman - Emerald Fennell


Best original screenplay

  • Winner: Promising Young Woman - Emerald Fennell
  • Judas and the Black Messiah - Will Berson, Shaka King, Will Berson, Kenny Lucas and Keith Lucas
  • Minari - Lee Isaac Chung
  • Sound of Metal - Darius Marder, Abraham Marder, Derek Cianfrance
  • The Trial of the Chicago 7 - Aaron Sorkin


Best adapted screenplay

  • Winner: The Father - Christopher Hampton, Florian Zeller
  • Borat Subsequent Moviefilm - Sacha Baron Cohen, Anthony Hines, Dan Swimer, Peter Baynham, Erica Rivinoja, Dan Mazer, Jena Friedman and Lee Kern
  • Nomadland - Chloé Zhao
  • One Night in Miami - Kemp Powers
  • The White Tiger - Ramin Bahrani

Soul is about a school music teacher who dreams of being a jazz performer. Photo - DISNEY/PIXAR


Best animated feature

  • Winner: Soul 
  • Onward
  • Over the Moon
  • A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon
  • Wolfwalkers


Best documentary feature

  • Winner: My Octopus Teacher - Pippa Ehrlich, James Reed and Craig Foster
  • Collective - Alexander Nanau and Bianca Oana
  • Crip Camp - Nicole Newnham, Jim LeBrecht and Sara Bolder
  • The Mole Agent - Maite Alberdi and Marcela Santibáñez
  • Time - Garrett Bradley, Lauren Domino and Kellen Quinn


Best international feature

  • Winner: Another Round (Denmark)
  • Better Days (Hong Kong)
  • Collective (Romania)
  • The Man Who Sold His Skin (Tunisia)
  • Quo Vadis, Aida? (Bosnia and Herzegovina)

Celeste's music is influenced by the likes of Aretha Franklin, Neneh Cherry and Billie Holiday. Photo - CELESTE


Best original song

  • Winner: Fight For You - Judas and the Black Messiah (H.E.R., Dernst Emile II and Tiara Thomas)
  • Hear my Voice - The Trial of the Chicago 7 (Daniel Pemberton and Celeste Waite)
  • Husavik - Eurovision Song Contest: The Story of Fire Saga (Savan Kotecha, Fat Max Gsus and Rickard Göransson)
  • Io Si (Seen) - The Life Ahead [La Vita Davanti a Se] (Diane Warren and Laura Pausini)
  • Speak Now - One Night in Miami... (Leslie Odom, Jr and Sam Ashworth)


Best original score

  • Winner: Soul - Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross and Jon Batiste
  • Da 5 Bloods - Terence Blanchard
  • Mank - Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross
  • Minari - Emile Mosseri
  • News of the World - James Newton Howard


Best cinematography

  • WInner: Mank - Erik Messerschmidt
  • Judas and the Black Messiah - Sean Bobbitt
  • News of the World - Dariusz Wolski
  • Nomadland - Joshua James Richards
  • The Trial of the Chicago 7 - Phedon Papamichael

Mulan was a live-action remake of Disney's 1998 animation. Photo - DISNEY


Best visual effects

  • Winner: Tenet - Andrew Jackson, David Lee, Andrew Lockley and Scott Fisher
  • Love and Monsters - Matt Sloan, Genevieve Camilleri, Matt Everitt and Brian Cox
  • The Midnight Sky - Matthew Kasmir, Christopher Lawrence, Max Solomon and David Watkins
  • Mulan - Sean Faden, Anders Langlands, Seth Maury and Steve Ingram
  • The One and Only Ivan - Santiago Colomo Martinez, Nick Davis, Greg Fisher


Best film editing

  • Winner: Sound of Metal - Mikkel EG Nielsen
  • The Father - Yorgos Lamprinos
  • Nomadland - Chloé Zhao
  • Promising Young Woman - Frédéric Thoraval
  • The Trial of the Chicago 7 - Alan Baumgarten

Mank leads the charge with 10 nominations. Photo - NETFLIX


Best costume design

  • Winner: Ma Rainey's Black Bottom - Ann Roth
  • Emma - Alexandra Byrne
  • Mank - Trish Summerville
  • Mulan - Bina Daigeler
  • Pinocchio - Massimo Cantini Parrini


Best sound

  • Winner: Sound of Metal - Nicolas Becker, Jaime Baksht, Michelle Couttolenc, Carlos Cortés and Phillip Bladh
  • Greyhound - Warren Shaw, Michael Minkler, Beau Borders and David Wyman
  • Mank - Ren Klyce, Jeremy Molod, David Parker, Nathan Nance and Drew Kunin
  • News of the World - Oliver Tarney, Mike Prestwood Smith, William Miller and John Pritchett
  • Soul - Ren Klyce, Coya Elliott and David Parker

News of the World stars Tom Hanks and Helena Zengel. Photo - NETFLIX/BBC


Best production design

  • Winner: Mank - Donald Graham Burt and Jan Pascale
  • The Father - Peter Francis and Cathy Featherstone
  • Ma Rainey's Black Bottom - Mark Ricker, Karen O'Hara and Diana Stoughton
  • News of the World - David Crank and Elizabeth Keenan
  • Tenet - Nathan Crowley and Kathy Lucas


Best make-up and hairstyling

  • Winner: Ma Rainey's Black Bottom - Sergio Lopez-Rivera, Mia Neal and Jamika Wilson
  • Emma - Marese Langan, Laura Allen and Claudia Stolze
  • Hillbilly Elegy - Eryn Krueger Mekash, Matthew Mungle and Patricia Dehaney
  • Mank - Gigi Williams, Kimberley Spiteri and Colleen LaBaff
  • Pinocchio - Mark Coulier, Dalia Colli and Francesco Pegoretti


Best live action short

  • Winner: Two Distant Strangers - Travon Free and Martin Desmond Roe
  • Feeling Through - Doug Roland and Susan Ruzenski
  • The Letter Room - Elvira Lind and Sofia Sondervan
  • The Present - Farah Nabulsi
  • White Eye - Tomer Shushan and Shira Hochman


Best animated short

  • Winner: If Anything Happens I Love You - Will McCormack and Michael Govier
  • Burrow - Madeline Sharafian and Michael Capbarat
  • Genius Loci - Adrien Mérigeau and Amaury Ovise
  • Opera - Erick Oh
  • Yes-People - Gísli Darri Halldórsson and Arnar Gunnarsson


Best documentary short

  • Winner: Colette - Anthony Giacchino and Alice Doyard
  • A Concerto is a Conversation - Ben Proudfoot and Kris Bowers
  • Do Not Split - Anders Hammer and Charlotte Cook
  • Hunger Ward - Skye Fitzgerald and Michael Scheuerman
  • A Love Song for Latasha - Sophia Nahli Allison and Janice Duncan